General Information

Collegial Structure

Drake University is a private and independent major university located in an urban setting in Des Moines, the capital of Iowa and its largest city. Enrollment is selective and size is limited.  The University is composed of seven colleges and schools:

  • College of Arts and Sciences
  • Zimpleman College of Business
  • School of Education
  • School of Journalism and Mass Communication
  • School of Law
  • College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences
  • John Dee Bright College

Pre-professional programs meet requirements for admission to schools of dentistry, engineering, law, medical technology, medicine, physical therapy, and social work.

Drake University also offers several master’s and doctoral degrees. See Law School and graduate catalogs for more details.


Drake University has been on the approved list of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools since 1913.  Since reorganization of the Association in 2000, Drake University is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission and a member of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools.  The Higher Learning Commission reaffirmed Drake's accreditation in 2018.

Phone: 312-263-0456

In addition to University accreditation by the Higher Learning Commission, the following Colleges, Schools, and departments have been accredited by the agencies designated:

  • Teacher Education and Educational Leadership programs are accredited by the Iowa Department of Education and the Iowa Board of Educational Examiners.
  • Law School: Accredited by the Council of American Bar Association’s Section of Legal Education and Admission to the Bar and a charter member of the Association of American Law Schools.
  • Zimpleman College of Business: Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business
  • College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences:
  • School of Journalism and Mass Communication: Accredited by the Accrediting Council on Education in Journalism and Mass Communication.
  • Department of Art and Design is accredited by the National Association of Schools of Art and Design.
  • Department of Chemistry is accredited by The American Chemical Society.
  • Department of Music is accredited by The National Association of Schools of Music.

Drake University is registered by the Iowa College Student Aid Commission on behalf of the State of Iowa. Students who wish to inquire about the school or file a complaint should use the following contact information:

Iowa College Student Aid Commission

Phone (toll-free): (877) 272-4456, option 4
Online student complaint form:

The information in this catalog does not constitute a contract between the university and the student. The university reserves the right to make changes in curricula, admission policies and processes, tuition and financial aid, academic standards and guidelines, student services and any other regulations or policies set forth in this catalog without giving prior notice.