## **BOARD OF TRUSTEES**

The Board of Trustees, the governing body for Drake University, is composed of thirty-six members who are elected by majority vote of the Board. Terms for Trustees are scheduled for three years each and staggered with no term limits. In addition, the Student Body President and Faculty Senate President serve a one-year term. The Drake Alumni Association Chair serves as an ex-officio member.

Throughout the more than 125-year history, the Board has been composed of dedicated and distinguished Trustees who have been strong advocates of excellence in academic programs, faculty roles, and public service.

## **University Governance**

Drake University governance includes a Faculty Senate and Student Senate. The Faculty Senate has 29 voting members elected from and by the faculty of instruction: four elected at large, nine from each of the four divisions of the College of Arts and Sciences, three each from the Zimpleman College of Business and College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences, and two each from the John Dee Bright College, School of Journalism and Mass Communication, School of Education, the Law School, and Cowles Library. The president of the University and the provost sit as nonvoting members.

## **Student Senate**

The Drake University Student Senate is elected by the members of the student body, which has 20 voting members: 5 executive officers, elected at large: the Student Body President, who serves as chair; the Vice President of Student Life; the Vice President of Student Activities; the Vice President of Student Organizations; and the Student Body Treasurer. 6 Academic Senators elected by each college; 1 first year senator elected from and by the First Year Class, 2 Equity and Inclusion Senators who also serve as Co-Presidents of Unity Roundtable; and 6 Senators-at-Large, elected at large.

The Student Senate acts as ombudsman on behalf of the student body; assures adherence to University policy, procedures and rules; and makes recommendations regarding policies or other student concerns to appropriate University committees or administrative officers.